PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 72

Post Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:59 pm      Post subject: Help with names of villages in Austrian Poland- Galacia

I have recently begun helping a friend try to discover more about her Polish genealogy. It is very early days yet, but I thought someone on the Forum could give me a push or two in the right direction. All my previous work has been near Poznan and in the former Russian part of Poland. One side of my friend's family looks to have originated in the Austrian part and/or Galacia - where I have no experience at all. Here is the little I have to go on:

From Ancestry - The birth of Jessie Durlak 15 Nov 1915 in Chicago. Father is Max Durlak birthplace: Gryline, Austria
Mother is Mary Gałuszka birthplace: Krasus, Austria

In another record Mary Magdelene Galuszka is listed as being born in Larnowiec, Galacia. The closest I could fine was Tarnowiec.

I have searched and none of these place names could be found. I am hoping the true names may have been warped/misspelled and that someone might recognize what they really are.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide,

Gary Deborski
Send e-mail
Cheri Vanden Berg
PO Top Contributor & Patron

Replies: 497

Post Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:20 pm      Post subject:

Gary, Have you seen Maksymilian Durlak on this ship manifest https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3QS7-L9S8-28S7?mode=g&i=750&wc=MKZW-HZS%3A1004778001%2C1004795201%3Fcc%3D2018318&cc=2018318 It has his last residence: Biała Niżna. There is a village named Grybów that is less than 4 km away from Biała Niżna. Just a thought that if the handwriting was bad, maybe someone guessed that it said Gryline.
Cheri
PolishLibrarian
PO Top Contributor

Replies: 311