PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 7

Post Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:36 pm      Post subject: Seeking Relatives in Jablonka or Witkowice: Kurzak or Mazur

I'm just getting started looking for relatives and I need to really get on the ball, as I'm traveling there on October 2 with my teenage son! We would love to meet some relatives while there.

I have some family records (baptism), but can't make out what they say. The surnames I'm interested in finding are Mazur and Kurzak, and it appears my ancestors may have come from Jablonka, Witkowice, Brzozow, Podlasie. My grandfather (Chester Kurzak) visited some relatives in Poland in the 80s, but unfortunately did not share any information about who he visited, or where. I only have a postcard.

My grandfather, Chester Kurzak lived in Buffalo NY. His parents came from Poland and their names were:
Stanley (Stanislaw) Kurzak, born April 9 1887... parents were John Kurzak and Maria Polanek
Helen Mazur (I believe she was married to a man before Stanley whose last name was Tyszka but he passed away.)
Stanley and Helen were married on June 24, 1919. I have the certificate but can't read the location. Will upload for assistance now that I've found this great website.

Any tips?
marcelproust
PO Top Contributor

Replies: 4195

Post Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:54 pm      Post subject: Re: Seeking Relatives in Jablonka or Witkowice: Kurzak or Ma

shandean wrote:
I'm just getting started looking for relatives and I need to really get on the ball, as I'm traveling there on October 2 with my teenage son! We would love to meet some relatives while there.