PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 22

Post Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:21 pm      Post subject: Research on Kensak, Stare Bystre... Advice & Guidance ne

I am a beginner in genealogy research, and I am trying to trace my family back to Poland. The whole family is very mysterious. No one spoke about their life prior to coming to the US and everyone was very tight lipped. My family's surname is Kensak. I see a million variations, so I am not sure if I should focus on the spelling my family chose. Is there a spelling or variation of Kensak that would be more common that I should use while researching, I assume (possibly wrongly), they chose to spell the name Kensak to make it more American-ized, but for all I know that is how it should be spelt. I am not sure if I should also research under the polish names of Albert and John. Also, I do not know if at the time they came to the US, were they from Poland or was it Austria, or should I look for Galicia?

Also, I did find naturalization papers, and they both stated they are from Stare Bystre, Poland. I know there is a Stare Bystre, Stare Bystre Dolne and Stare Bystre Gorne. How do I know which town to study?