PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 2

Post Posted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:50 am      Post subject: Padnewno

Hi, newbie here
i have lots of questions so hardly know where to begin, but thought I'd start here:

My gr gr grandfather, who anglicized his name to Matthew Havens came from Wilno in 1903. (I believe he was widowed by this time as he married again in the US).
I believe his original name was Maciej Iwanowsky. (his immigration is here: https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:JFPR-CYF)

In 1904 he brought one of his daughters over. She anglicized her name to Jessie/Jessica Havens, and I suspect her original name was Joasia Iwanowska. This is her immigration record.
https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:JFB5-64Z

I am curious as to what town Padnewno could be?
most of the genetic markers associated with this side of the family, are shown as being anywhere from Gdansk to Vilna.

Thanks

katgirl
Sophia
PO Top Contributor

Replies: 1028

Post Posted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 7:19 am      Post subject: Re: Padnewno

katgirl wrote:
Hi, newbie here
i have lots of questions so hardly know where to begin, but thought I'd start here:

My gr gr grandfather, who anglicized his name to Matthew Havens came from Wilno in 1903. (I believe he was widowed by this time as he married again in the US).
I believe his original name was Maciej Iwanowsky. (his immigration is here: https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:JFPR-CYF)

In 1904 he brought one of his daughters over. She anglicized her name to Jessie/Jessica Havens, and I suspect her original name was Joasia Iwanowska. This is her immigration record.
https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:JFB5-64Z

I am curious as to what town Padnewno could be?