PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 16

Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:44 am      Post subject: Searching for relatives from Ludzmierz

My grandmother immigrated from Poland to the United States in 1907 when she was 19 years old. She was from the village of Ludzmierz. Her name was Karolina and her surname was Radecki. She had an identical twin sister, whose name was Margaret, another sister, Aneila, and two brothers, Ludwik and Franciszek. She may have also had a brother named, Jan. Franciszek and Jan also immigrated to the US, but returned to Poland at some point, and I assume back to their hometown of Ludzmierz. Grandma corresponded with her twin for many years and also with her brother-in-law, but before she passed away in 1971, that correspondence had ceased.

I am just beginning the search for information about my grandmother's family and would appreciate any insight and information any one could offer.

Thank you.
Ute
PO Top Contributor

Replies: 593

Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:31 am      Post subject: Re: Searching for relatives from Ludzmierz

justvicki wrote:
My grandmother immigrated from Poland to the United States in 1907 when she was 19 years old. She was from the village of Ludzmierz. Her name was Karolina and her surname was Radecki. She had an identical twin sister, whose name was Margaret, another sister, Aneila, and two brothers, Ludwik and Franciszek. She may have also had a brother named, Jan. Franciszek and Jan also immigrated to the US, but returned to Poland at some point, and I assume back to their hometown of Ludzmierz. Grandma corresponded with her twin for many years and also with her brother-in-law, but before she passed away in 1971, that correspondence had ceased.