PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author
PolishOrigins Team Leader

Replies: 1447

Post Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:01 am      Post subject: Help in Russian records translations!

I have the enormous pleasure to announce that one of our visitors and now member Richard, nick in our website 'Staripolak64', offered his help in translations of old Russian Cyrillic handwritten records for our PolishOrigins Community Exclamation

Richard is retired Slavic languages translator, fluent in Russian, Ukrainian, read and write Polish, Czech. As he wrote in e-mail to me after I contacted him: "I would be happy to translate for anyone who needs it. I have over 40 years of experience, including Russian handwriting back to the 15th century. I spent 14 years as a translator for the American Historical Society of Germans from Russia, where I also translated books, birth records, passports, census records (revizskiye skazki), military records, etc."

Doesn't it sound impressive Smile Question.

---

Update: 17 Feb 2016

After more than 6 years of untiring help for our community by Ryszard Staripolak64 had to resign because his eyesight worsened and it was too tiring for him to decipher digital copies of old Russian handwriting. http://forum.polishorigins.com/viewtopic.php?p=25019#25019 . We THANK YOU so very much for the last 6 years of your tireless help and translating thousands of records for us. You had a great impact on so many of families' discoveries. It has and will have lasting effect for generations.

Most of you already know our friend from Poland Marcelproust who when only has time has been helping in the Russian translations for many months now. He also offered his help in visiting archives in Plock and I know from some of our community members that he did a great job.