PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author
PO Top Contributor & Patron

Replies: 1000

Post Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:56 pm      Post subject: Makacz Makuch Matyja (Odrowaz village) 1823 birth certif

The online auction site Delcamp.net has a 1823 birth certificate for Jozef Makuch (probably spelled Makacz) for sale at the link below.

I am not the seller, I just stumbled upon it while searching for links to my family village Odrowaz. It is listed as Josepus Makuch - Chatarina Hatyja - Odrowaz - Tarnów -Galicia -Lodz - Poland - 1856 AV657 Item number: 53786905. The price without shipping is 12 euros. I don't know how long it has been for sale, but I first looked at it in May 2009 and the seller has relisted it several times at the same price.

I am not an expert, so I can not comment whether the document is authentic. It is very similar to the document I have for my grandfather who was born in 1908 in Poland. The site allows you to zoom in on the photos and clearly read the document. I was able to confirm the birth record during my Forefathers Traces Tour with Zenon - however, the seller has deciphered the names incorrectly.

The certificate records the 1823 birth of Jozef Makacz (Makuch?) to Andrzej Makacz and Katarzyna Matyja (I am using the spellings taken from my records)

If these names match your family, you might be interested in taking a look at this. The seller's user name is Merlion and he is located in Romania. I have never purchased anything from this auction site, but I did register so I could contact the seller about other documents from that area of Poland. He actually had another document for this same Jozef (see additional threads below).

This is the link - I tested it on 16 DEC 2009 and was able to connect directly to the item: