PolishOrigins Forum

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in    RegisterRegister 
Author

Replies: 9

Post Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:59 pm      Post subject: Searching for possible relatives living in US

Hello,

My name is Mirek Bal and I live in Poland. I came here because I would like to find out if I have any relatives living in the US. None of my relatively close family members (for example siblings of my grandparents etc.) emigrated to US (or, to be more precise, I have no knowledge of such thing), but maybe someone more distantly related did it and how his/her descendants live there.

Here are the names I'm looking for:

Bal - Nienadowa village, Podkarpackie voivodeship, Galizia, formerly Austria.
Pilch - as above.
Ojrzyński - Mazowian voivodeship.
Truszczyński - as above.
Bąba - Jastkowice village, Podkarpackie voivodeship, Galizia, formerly Austria.

I would be gratious for any info.
Kim K

Replies: 39

Post Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:35 pm      Post subject:

Hmmm... I don't recognize those areas but as a long shot in the dark you can try a couple things:

Ellis Island's website - Go to "Full Page" search options. Seems to require a surname to run any search but you can then try putting in a location as well. Note: Only for NY immigration after 1892. And location names can be severely garbled or completely absent other than "Germany" "Austria" etc.

However if you are willing to try surname searches, there are other immigration resources on things like FamilySearch (some sources require a free account.) A lot of people from what was previously Germany/Prussia/Austria/East Europe came to the US through Baltimore and there are also pre-Ellis Island NY records. Check those out. Some people also did come to the US temporarily then returned to Poland.